Akron Brass & Hale Sponsor Scholarship for Fire Protection Engineering, Administration Program

Company News
August 31, 2022

IDEX Fire & Safety business units Akron Brass and Hale recently partnered with the Fire Apparatus Manufacturers’ Association (FAMA) to sponsor a scholarship for college students in Fire Protection Engineering and Administration programs.

The 2022 Scholarship winner, majoring in Fire Protection Engineering with a minor in civil engineering, was University of New Haven student Andrew Tivadar. Dedicated to protecting the citizens of his hometown, Tivadar is an active member of the Long Hill Fire Department in Trumbull, Connecticut (USA). Tivadar joined the department in December 2017 and now holds the following certifications: Fire I, Fire II, Aerial Operator, and Hazmat Awareness and Operations. He is a Driver/Engineer for the engine and the rescue truck at his station. Recently, Tivadar received the Chief’s Award for Outstanding Dedication to the department and currently serves on their Board of Directors.

To pay for his education, Tivadar currently works as both a small engine mechanic and as a fire protection consultant while maintaining his position on the Dean’s List.

“As leaders in innovative fire suppression products for more than 100 years, we value the importance of education and its role in leading the next generation in shaping the future of the fire and rescue service. Akron Brass and Hale Products are honored to continue our partnership with FAMA and the Phillip L Turner scholarship program. We are thrilled to recognize Andrew Tivadar as this year’s scholarship recipient,” said Brian Houk, Vice President, IDEX Fire & Safety.

Named in honor of Phillip L. Turner, the scholarship was created in 2007 shortly after Philip passed away while serving as President for FAMA. Philip was a major advocate for education and contributed as chairman of FAMA’s Meeting Planning Committee (1998–2004), member of the Board of Directors, secretary and Vice President.

The Phillip L. Turner Scholarship is awarded annually by FAMA and has been sponsored by the Akron Brass Company since 2009.

WordPress Lightbox